Collette Crepe finished!

22 Sep

Well I feel I have turned a corner with my sewing.  I have finally completed a dress which I am remotely proud of!

Presenting the Hanny Bobbins Collette Crepe:

IMG_2336

 

It is an unusual design as it is a wrap dress so – my goodness- it takes a lot of fabric.  However it is very secure and you aren’t worried about it coming undone, the ‘wraps’ are very well secured.

IMG_2332

If you look carefully you can see the overlap.  One criticism of this dress would be the complication of the tie around the waist, working out whether to have the left piece or the right piece on top is quite confusing, and having worn this a few times now I still am not too sure.  This project had a tumultuous arrival as my sewing machine broke whilst I was making it, so some information about the dress can be found in that post too – happily Stitchy has now made a full recovery!

I am so pleased I did the extra steps to make this dress special, I underlined it by hand and sewed down all the facings by hand and am pleased with the outcome.  Due to the design of the dress it does look rather ‘homemade’ – when was the last time you saw a wrap dress like this in a shop? – but I like it so don’t mind on this occasion.

Over to you: 

  • Have you made the Collette Crepe?
  • What do you think of the ‘homemade’ vs ‘handmade’ debate?!
  • Do you hand sew to make a project extra special?

Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

One Response to “Collette Crepe finished!”

  1. V 25/09/2013 at 2:39 pm #

    I’ve never sewn any of the Colette patterns, although there are a couple in my “must sew someday” list. Hand sewing it a must for finishes for me. I prefer a hand sewn hem to a machine done one, although lately, the machine has been getting more than its fair share of them. Facings, however, are ALWAYS hand sewn. Part of that is training, my home economics teacher insisted on it when I was sewing for class. Part of it is preference, I simply like the way the stitches disappear when I’ve hand sewn the facing in. Machine sewing the facing never looks right to me.

Leave a Reply

