baby bunting gift

29 Jul

Just a little project to blog today which I finished ages ago as a Christening gift for Baby Connie, the second daughter of my friends Melanie and Matt.

I made her some baby bunting:

IMG_1491

I love a bit of bunting!  So festive!  I also made this using scraps so it meets the Scrapbusting Challenge!

I didn’t realise the variety in bunting until I tried to make some.  You can have pinked edges, one sided or completely finished.  As this was a special gift I wanted to make the most intricate one so went for completely finished, and top stitched bunting.  I used a tutorial from homemade and happy which no longer exists – this is all I can find of it!  I am fastidious about downloading online patterns and tutorials I like and I am so pleased I printed this one out – I am sorry you can’t recreate this yourself, but there are literally loads of bunting tutorials out there to choose from instead.

Instead of normal bias binding I used this beautiful pre-made polka dot binding with a pretty picot edge I bought from eBay.  I just love it!

IMG_1492 IMG_1493

I also crafted a little tote to keep the bunting in – I had this adorable bunting fabric – it was fate!

IMG_1494With a lovely flowery lining:

IMG_1495I was really pleased with the finished gift and had a lovely thank you message from Mel.  I just love giving handmade gifts.

Over to you:

  • Have you ever been caught out by an online tutorial disappearing?
  • Do you like to make for others?
  • Are there any ‘go to’ gift patterns you use?

Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

