blogging missions

27 Jul

Okay, it have been rather a long time since my last blog post – the overlocker review doesn’t count, I wrote that in March!!

There isn’t really much of a reason, I just haven’t been interested or inclined to blog.  My problem is that I get obsessive.  I couldn’t just record my sewing exploits and my meanderings around the blogosphere, I had to go totally OTT and court every bit of interest I could get.  Inveitably, this becomes unsustainable and I lose interest as I can’t keep the level I have set for myself.  Story of my life.  In fact, sewing is one of the few things in my life that has managed to stand the test of time – I think that may be because it is so versatile.  Once I’m bored of quilting, I move on to garment sewing then a bit of home dec etc.  So what has brought me back to blogging?  A post from the couture academic saying she got herself in a similar (albeit infinitely more successful than me!) position.  The post really set my cogs a-whirl.

She set herself a blogging mission to get herself back on track, which I really like the idea of, here’s hers:

I blog because I love sewing and I want to share that love, passion and enthusiasm with others.  I blog so my learning may help my fellow sewers with theirs; thus experiencing the frustrations, joys, and beauty of sewing together.

Wow – powerful stuff.  I envy this lady’s clarity of thought to set this out so eloquently.  I am just not ready to set out my blogging vision yet, mainly because I simply don’t know it myself!

However I think I am ready to set some parameters for myself:

  • Everything doesn’t have to be perfect.
  • Post don’t procrastinate.
  • Don’t obsess.

I am going to set these as my mainstay and work forward from here.  I am not happy that each of these is couched in the negative but hey – everything doesn’t have to be perfect!!

What do you think?

Is there a reason you have/haven’t started a blog?

Do you have a blogging mission?

Any other advice to stop me getting in to a mess again?!

I’d love to hear from you!

3 Responses to “blogging missions”

  1. Kat 28/07/2013 at 9:39 am #

    Hello Hanny Bobbins! Thank you so much for the mention in your blog post!! I’m really touched and humbled that you appreciated my post and found your own way back into blogging. It took me a while to spin a blogging mission statement, but well worth the effort. It kinda gets you thinking and distils why you really do what you do – which is an important exercise in my mind. Keep up the good work, and enjoy it 🙂

    • hannybobbins 30/07/2013 at 6:12 pm #

      Thanks Kat. Your post certainly got me back on track so thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hobbycraft Hijinks | Hanny Bobbins - 27/07/2013

    […] we’d enjoyed surely that is the end of the story?  Remember that post where I mentioned I am obsessive?? […]

Leave a Reply

