Stashbusting update: February

24 Feb

Stashbusting Sewalong

I am still ploughing away at this stashbusting business.  I know I am meant to have identified the fabrics I will be using up and I haven’t actually got around to that, erm, sorry.  But I am doing the monthly challenges, this month was ‘making for others’.

February is my Step-Mother Nancy’s birthday and she adores cloth napkins.  I don’t really enjoy making napkins, there is just so much accuracy required along with lots of pressing and they look really easy to the recipient when in fact they take ages to make.    But I know she would really enjoy them, and actually use them so relented.  It also gave me a chance to give my new serger/overlocker a spin using the rolled hem function.

IMG_1484

I wasn’t sure of the best way to corner a rolled hem napkin so I googled and who is the top link?  Only my favourite Craftsy instructor Amy Alan with this free tutorial!

The fabric I used was a two metre length of quilting cotton I bought at a Christmas sale for £5 a metre.  I got eight enormous dinner napkins out of the two metre length (they are 20 inches across which I think is pretty huge).  I made four for Nancy and four spares which will probably end up being given to my lovely sister Helen who was commenting how much she would like a set of napkins when I saw her over my birthday weekend.

IMG_1482

I made a little drawstring bag for the napkins to live in with a stripe of the napkin fabric across it and the drawstring made from a tube of the same material.

IMG_1485

My Dad and Nancy live in the USA so these bad boys were sent off today to Lynchburg, Virginia.  I hope she likes them!

Next month the focus of the stashbusting is: Impending Seasonal Change. Regardless of your hemispherical location, the weather will be changing soon…what will you make? Something fun for the coming spring, or something cozy for fall?  

I am linking this post up with the Stashbusting linky party

Over to you:

  • Are you participating in the stashbusting sew-a-long?
  • Are there any projects you just don’t enjoy making that much?
  • Any ideas what I could make in the March category?

Leave a comment; I’d love to hear from you!

3 Responses to “Stashbusting update: February”

  1. Penny 03/03/2013 at 4:35 am #

    Thank you for the link to the rolled hem tutorial! I have yet to try this on my serger so I will be checking that out! The napkins look lovely and the storage bag is a fabulous idea!

    • hannybobbins 10/03/2013 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks. My step- mother really liked them but said they were a bit big! She liked the bagso much she was thinking of using it as a purse! I think I may make her a tote for christmas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sibling birthday gifts | Hanny Bobbins - 12/08/2013

    […] place for online tutorials.   I know Helen wanted some napkins as I mentioned I’d made some for my Step-Mother and she said she’d like some too.  She’s also admired the fabric when I bought it so I […]

Leave a Reply

