Daring birthday projects

10 Feb

At school, I see teenagers who do really silly things in an attempt to keep up with the ‘cool kids’. Sadly those girls who will never keep up with the popular crowd often embarrass themselves trying to fit in and it all ends in tears. These wretched young ladies should have been more prominent in my consciousness when I asked Gillian to give me a sewing dare. I’ve been following the sewing dares discussions the ‘big girls’ have been blogging about for weeks but haven’t had the courage to engage…until now.

Sewing Dares

I need to warn you: I think I’m developing a little blogging crush on Gillian. She is just so lovely and not remotely cliquey. Instead of just giving me something generic she came over and read my blog posts and even commented on one. What a thoughtful lady.

My dare is:

Make a knitting bag for my projects using my new overlocker. Either zip, drawstring, or otherwise.

In anticipation of the glorious serging gift I am expecting for my birthday I have now bought the Craftsy Online Beginner Serging Class. Then, unbelievably, as I was scanning through the lessons I found one of the projects the course teaches you to make is a box bag which I could enlarge and use for my knitting – now that, my friends, is fate!

As my birthday coincides with the half term break it means I have a full week off work to immerse myself in sewing! I’ve been off work ill with another Crohn’s flare up so have been planning my projects so I don’t have to leave the house all week I can maximise my sewing time next week. My cousin Ian would mock this attempt to ‘organise’ enjoyment and call me a ‘fun fascist’, this is great term and utterly apt for me; I do love to organise. My first project will be to work through the above course, but after that I have two more projects in the proverbial pipeline:

Day to Night Top by Maria Denmark

Day to Night Top
and

Tiramisu Knit Dress by Cake Patterns

Tiramisu Dress

Cake patterns has recently held a thirty minutes a day sew-a-long for this pattern so I am buoyed by the chances of success with the additional help. I thought long and hard about whether to go for the physical Tiramisu pattern or the download. The PDF was just over £8 and the printed one £12 plus postage and packaging. I generally prefer the professionally printed product but calculated I could get the Maria Denmark one aswell for the same outlay by downloading the Tiramisu, so in the end there was no competition. Sadly I am having a complete nightmare printing this pattern to the correct scaling. I’ve spent an hour on it today before emailing Steph today with lots of screen shots to explain the problem. I really hope she gets back to me quickly as I want to get all the ‘pre’ work done so when I get my overlocker on Sunday I can get straight on.

Can you imagine how bad it would be if Mr Frog *didn’t* buy me that overlocker now?! It doesn’t bear thinking about.

Over to you:

  • Are you participating in the sewing dares craze?
  • Is planning for ‘downtime’ a contradiction in terms?
  • Are you a “fun fascist” like me or are you a free creative spirit?

Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you!

10 Responses to “Daring birthday projects”

  1. V 11/02/2013 at 12:00 am #

    I’m definitely not one of the cool kids as this is the first I’ve heard of sewing dares! I shall no go spend hours searching and reading up on them.

    Planning for downtime is maximizing your moments! With 2 little ones running about my downtime, if I don’t plan my sewing or other activities, it simply doesn’t happen. This week, I’m planning a date with some stash fabric and my favorite fabric shears. 🙂

    • hannybobbins 11/02/2013 at 6:13 pm #

      Hiya,
      Sewing Dares originated from twitter so that might be how you’ve missed it.

      I think that sounds like a fantastic date!!

  2. geebeew 11/02/2013 at 2:14 am #

    What a sweet post! Thank you! i think one of the most amazing things about the online sewing world is that we suddenly ALL become the cool kids – Something I really never would be in real life! I have such endless appreciation for the supportiveness and freedom of the sewing world. Now matter what you put out there, you’ll be supported and find your niche. It’s a pretty wonderful thing, isn’t it!?

    As for you – You’ve chosen my two favourite new knit patterns to start with! They are both so easy to sew, and so satisfying. You’ll be happy, I think. I”m curious about the Craftsy course – I’ve thought about taking it, but I can’t quite decide. I’d love to read a review when you are done!

    • hannybobbins 11/02/2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Hi Gillian
      It seems so wonderful to be part of the sewing community already, it just feels like finding lots of kindred spirits. People are so generous with their knowledge and thoughts. So lovely.

      I chose both the patterns based on the buzz on the blogosphere about them, I’ve seen all your Tiramisus! I really hope I do them justice.

      I am enjoying the Craftsy course so far but it is pretty basic so might be too simple for you. Don’t worry, review will be done!

  3. sewbusylizzy 11/02/2013 at 5:49 am #

    I’ve got a sewing dare waiting. I’ve completed one…

    • hannybobbins 11/02/2013 at 6:19 pm #

      I’ve seen yours Lizzy – I am very pleased I didn’t get one so advanced!

      • sewbusylizzy 12/02/2013 at 4:31 am #

        I didn’t think I was capable but I surprised myself!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. privacy versus community | Hanny Bobbins - 25/02/2013

    […] to get bigger and bigger and bigger with so many of the blogs I read (and proverbial ‘‘big girls’) signing up.  They also, tantalisingly, were suggesting that it could lead to sewing meet ups in […]

  2. Sewing Dares – update | Hanny Bobbins - 29/07/2013

    […] the shame!  I was included by the popular kids and had a sewing dare bestowed upon me way back in February.  Like a keen puppy I completed it just as asked but my blogging break has […]

  3. Day to night top by Maria Denmark | Hanny Bobbins - 10/08/2013

    […] made this top ages ago, but as I talked about it on my blog I thought I would post about […]

Leave a Reply

