Unlocking serger shopping

1 Feb

Last birthday, February 2012, after just six weeks of sewing I upgraded my sewing machine to the Janome DXL 603 and I simply love it. I bought it in person at The Sewing Studio in Redruth Cornwall but they also sell online. What a fantastic experience it was to go and try out all the great machines in the shop and whittle it down to the one which fitted me like a glove! The lady was so helpful and knowledgable; she showed me how to use every feature and foot. I brought it home and it was christened…

meet Stitchy:

20130201-205534.jpg

In the intervening year I have only had one issue with my sewing machine…

meet Horatio:

20130201-205921.jpg

He took the christening to another level – by PEEING on Stitchy! This led to the cat being deeply unpopular for at least a day (could you resist the little swine!?) and the inside seizing up (machine, not cat). I phoned the Sewing Studio and as I had to travel the hour and a half from Plymouth and could only come at the weekend they made me an early morning Saturday appointment. Then, get this, as it was a quick fix they didn’t even charge me! I mean, what service!?

So when my family offered to club together for my birthday this year so I could have an overlocker / serger there was only one place I would visit. Two weekends ago my lovely husband took me down to test drive some models and learn all about these machines.

Upon arrival we were assisted by Darius who I *think* is the owner, he is at least the engineer. He showed me three different machines:

Entry level:

Milford Sound in New Zealand

Janome 9300DX £259

Pros:
Good entry level machine
Colour coded thread guides
Instructional DVD
Comes pre-threaded
Personal one: would match Stitchy beautifully!

Cons:
More complicated on the threading than other machines
Can only do three or four thread stitches
No integrated waste basket

Mid range:

Milford Sound in New Zealand

Pros:
Top of range Janome
Can do two thread stitches
Easy threading of lower loopers with a clicky thingy
Colour coded threading
Simple rolled hem conversion
Cool accessories box which fits in to waste basket
Instruction DVD – they have it on their website too

Cons:
No needle threader
Personal one: I don’t like the grey as much as I do the red!

Top of the range:

Milford Sound in New Zealand

Juki 734DE

This bad boy looked amazing and apparently is a Bernina in all but name – they come from the same factory – but it was out of my price range so I didn’t dwell too much in case I fell in love!

Test driving

I decided to try out the mid-range Janome. Darius showed me the basic operation of an overlocker – in short you start the machine going and THEN start sewing to get a thread chain – and then he let me loose.

First reaction? These beasts are fast! Wow! You can tangibly feel the increased power and speed from a sewing machine!
I played with it for a while with Darius demonstrating the features and then asked him to change it to three thread, two thread and finally rolled hem. He was quite happy to do all he could to answer my questions and demonstrate anything I asked. It was great to try everything and he was so knowledgeable.

The shop has a lovely cafe inside with the holy trinity: muffins, magazines and material – who could ask for more!? After a lovely cuppa we went back to where I had been playing with the overlocker and I began playing with it on my own while the shop assistants were serving other customers. Call me silly, I am, but this is when I started falling in love with Her. Darius kept talking about the machine like it was, well, a machine! Hey,he is an engineer to him that’s what it is. But to me, it needs to be so much more. It was this time I spent alone with it, playing with it, accidentally breaking the threads (and turning it in to a nest!) that made me feel this was my new baby. Bless him, Darius had the patience of a saint, rethreaded it and answered all my questions when he came over.We had a great experience and everyone was so helpful.

Reflection
I came home to research my shortlisted machine. There were hardly any reviews, which felt strange as the design of the machine wasn’t particularly modern. After a little digging and I quickly found this machine used to be called the 634D which had lots of good reviews. Particularly as a mid-range model, it means I can begin as well as grow on this baby.

So I put in my request to the birthday fairy for the Janome 6234XL – they were on sale until today so I hope he bought it in time!

Have you got a serger or overlocker? Do you like to ‘fall in love’ with machines, or are you more interested in sepcifications? I’d love to hear from you!

I wanted to say I am not affiliated to The Sewing Studio – just impressed!

7 Responses to “Unlocking serger shopping”

  1. Crafting a Rainbow 05/02/2013 at 2:15 am #

    I got my serger 9mths ago, and wow, I can’t imagine living without it now! it’s just so great!

    • hannybobbins 06/02/2013 at 7:14 pm #

      I know!! To say I am excited does not cut it! (Excuse the pun)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cat eats goat (kid you not) « Hanny Bobbins - 07/02/2013

    […] a teacher, he isn’t “Bad”). I’ve regaled you with the tale about when he peed on my sewing machine. Well the little sod has struck […]

  2. Daring birthday projects « Hanny Bobbins - 10/02/2013

    […] anticipation of the glorious serging gift I am expecting for my birthday I have now bought the Craftsy Online Beginner Serging Class. Then, […]

  3. Review of Beginner Serging from Craftsy | Hanny Bobbins - 23/02/2013

    […] have watched this lesson before I even went on my exploratory shopping trip to work out what I wanted from a machine so I would be able to see what you get in each price bracket.  This lesson also features […]

  4. Introducing Fred | Hanny Bobbins - 26/07/2013

    […] If you want the process I went through when choosing this model in the shop click here […]

  5. Day to night top by Maria Denmark | Hanny Bobbins - 10/08/2013

    […]  I was absolutely determined to begin my birthday sewing on my new machine.  Can you imagine if I hadn’t got the machine?!  That would have been another ridiculous situation I would have found myself […]

Leave a Reply

