Stashbusting baby quilt

31 Jan

Being married to a Frenchman means we have lots of friends and family in beautiful South-West France. He is from a gorgeous little county called the Gers (It’s pronounced ‘jers’ not ‘grrrs’). Two of our best friends from France have just had their second daughter, called Nell. She was due on the 28th of January and actually arrived on her due date! Knowing she is a Gersoise this will almost certainly be the first and last time she is on time for anything! I spent the weekend crafting a cot quilt for my newest friend, and imagine my glee when I found the legendary Handmade Jane had also departed in to the land of the quilt for one she loves; if it’s good enough for her it’s good enough for me!

This also counts towards my stashbusting pledge and I will be proudly linking this post up with the linky party. The focus this month was less than a yard and, as I’m a metric girl, I went for less than a metre *here’s hoping I’m not drummed out of the sewalong for fraud*. I am pretty proud that EVERYTHING came from stash and remnants of other projects, even the batting!

Here is the project:

20130131-205958.jpg

Quilt top
First was to decide my phrase for applique, which is obviously in French:
‘La Petite Nell’ which translates to ‘little Nell’ (you knew that!)

Make your lettering – I created the letters on publisher then used the ‘flip’ function to get them as a mirror image and printed

20130131-210227.jpg

Lay bondaweb on top of letters and begin tracing:

20130131-210347.jpg

Remove cat:

20130131-210437.jpg

Finish tracing all letters:

20130131-210514.jpg

Iron letters on to the back of the fabric and cut out:

20130131-210615.jpg

Choose your fabric. I selected a vibrant yellow, pink and peachy fabric 100cm x 110cm of quilting weight cotton (£5 pm on sale when I bought it).

Remove cat:

20130131-211154.jpg

Place the letters in desired place on the fabric:

20130131-210758.jpg

Peel the paper backing off and press the letters to adhere them:

20130131-210911.jpg

Now it’s time to sew!

Zig zag stitch around the lettering. You can see the settings I used on my Janome DXL in this photo:

20130131-211109.jpg

Basting
I learned this from the Craftsy block of the month (love Amy Gibson!).

Lay out the backing fabric face down on a hardfloor and use masking tape to hold it taught without stretching it:

20130131-211913.jpg

My pink polkadot fabric is left over from an apron I made my cousin’s wife

lay out your batting/wadding:

20130131-212131.jpg
note my backing is barely big enough as it’s a remnant!

lay your quilt top on top then start safety pinning through all three layers. Seing as I’ve done a bit of National stereotyping of the French in this post I thought I’d do us Brits too:

20130131-212400.jpg

Yep – obligatory cup of tea!

Once it is pinned to death it is time to start quilting!

Quilting
I decided to use that dogwood free motion quilting technique I was raving about the other day. Yep, I dropped those feed dogs and held my breath!

Yes it took me hours, just marking out all the bloomin’ boxes was enough! But I really like the design so it was worth it!

Binding
I was delighted to find I had enough of the fabric used for the applique to bind in the same material. I used this tutorial for making a continuous method – I always use this and it works every time. I pressed the tape in to binding using my 1″ clover bias tape maker. Then I bound the quilt using my quarter inch foot as my best friend:

20130131-213344.jpg

Finished item

I am really pleased with it! It isn’t perfect (the quilting certainly isn’t!) but it is the best I can do at this point in my sewing career:

20130131-213658.jpg

You can see the quilting a little clearer in this photo:

20130131-213525.jpg

I also got a cardmaking kit at the Crafting festival last weekend for just £1 so whipped a little card up to go with it (cardmaking not my thing!):

20130131-215220.jpg

Cards are a much bigger cultural thing for us Anglo-Saxons so I always try to include them for my French friends!

Here it is folded up just before wrapping:

20130131-215447.jpg

Isn’t sewing such a lovely hobby that you can create something from those simple fabrics which oozes so much love and caring? I just love to sew gifts for people. Have you sewn anything for someone you love? I’d love to hear from you!

13 Responses to “Stashbusting baby quilt”

  1. EmSewCrazy 01/02/2013 at 4:36 pm #

    So sweet! It’s quite an adorable project! I too love making hand made gifts.

  2. Ida 01/02/2013 at 7:53 pm #

    Darling! You did a wonderful job.

  3. Thearica Burroughs 01/02/2013 at 8:54 pm #

    Such a sweet quilt. These types of baby quilts are all the rave now. I want to make a few for gifts too.

    • hannybobbins 02/02/2013 at 12:07 am #

      Thanks. They are really good gift idea. I hope it is well received, it is due to arrive Weds!

  4. Alison 01/02/2013 at 9:53 pm #

    The quilt is adorable. Does it come with it’s own cat?
    Have a lovely weekend.
    Ali x

    • hannybobbins 02/02/2013 at 12:10 am #

      Thankyou, glad you liked it. Couldn’t let the cat go although if I did I know my sewing productivity would increase!!

  5. Christine Hart 02/02/2013 at 2:29 am #

    So sweet! Great finish.

  6. Sara 03/02/2013 at 1:25 pm #

    I made a table runner for my MIL recently that was well received. I never thought about how we Americans are such card givers and the French aren’t. That was thoughtful of you to include a card.

    I adore the French words on the quilt and your FMQ design is great!

    • hannybobbins 03/02/2013 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks Sara. We British love cards too. Last time we were out in France for Christmas one of our friends enjoyed the cards almost as much as the gift! I really hope that won’t be the case with this quilt…we’ll find out when Monsieur Postman delivers it on Wednesday. Thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog and your kind words on the project.

  7. carla bynum 04/02/2013 at 12:48 am #

    Hi!! Your baby quilt is beautiful!!! Very sweet for a very sweet little one!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  8. DeAnna Jordan Stanga 04/02/2013 at 1:48 am #

    Such a cute quilt. I love the fabric and you did great with the lettering. Great that you used fabric and batting you already had. Great baby gift and card. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Thearica Burroughs 04/02/2013 at 3:11 am #

    Thanks for linking up over at my blog but please be sweet and leave a link and a shout out in your post for the linky party.

Leave a Reply

