I think I got away with it!?

20 Jan

Okay so I finally got up the courage to wear something I have made out with someone other than my husband or closest friends. I decided that it was a baptism of fire so I wore it out for my cousin’s birthday meal at the very cool River Cottage Canteen in Plymouth. I am so proud to say that I think I got away with it! I don’t mean I ran off without paying the bill – I mean I think nobody realised my top was handmade not ready to wear. Very very exciting. So I suppose this answers the question posed by Sewaholic a few weeks ago in her blog how to make your clothing look less homemade. I am clearly in the camp of people who want their clothing to look as good as RTW.

20130120-223802.jpg

So what was the pattern I hear you cry!? It was New Look 6035 view c which I bought from Jaycotts for two reasons back in September:
1. It was recommended on Mushywear and I thought it looked very lovely on her blog
2. Seeing as I seem to spend a lot of money on this sewing game I thought a whole wardrobe of patterns would be a good investment

I made one of these before back in September and wore it to Creative Stitches in Westpoint Exeter. However, I have crohn’s disease which means my weight yoyos all the time and this bad boy doesn’t fit me anymore. Well, I thought, joys of home sewing – I will jolly well make myself another one! Here it is:

20130120-224211.jpg

Now this is doubly exciting because I actually altered the pattern a bit – I lengthened it. I commented on Gillian of Crafting the rainbow’s blog that I couldn’t alter a pattern and she came back telling me to just go for it – and she was right, scarily so considering she commented after I’d made this! It was cheap fabric (£3.99 p.m. At local discount store Trago Mills) so I thought the learning would equal the cost of the fabric if I mess it up.

20130120-224349.jpg

The truth is, I did mess it up, because it was so long it was ridiculous! So I decided to make it a gathered bottom like some of my M and S tops by elasticating the bottom. I like it, it gives it a different look I think.

20130120-224224.jpg

This make came together so quickly and easily, I did it over two weekday evenings and I am not up to much on weekday evenings. I didn’t pay full attention to the instructions (theme here!?) and didn’t bind the armholes properly – you are meant to sew the binding in to a loop and then bind the sleeve but I just bound it as a straight piece and it look ridiculous. I back tracked, realised my mistake and it dawned on me very quickly that I couldn’t be bothered to fix it properly so I just increased the seam allowance to take out the extra room. I did take a photo of me showing the offending armholes but I am not confident enough to put my ARMPIT on the information superhighway yet!

I really like the project and will make more of these tops, so versatile. What did you make this weekend? Do you like people to realise stuff was homemade? Or do you prefer them to mistake it for RTW?

13 Responses to “I think I got away with it!?”

  1. Karen 21/01/2013 at 12:13 am #

    Thanks so much for linking up…the link went through fine!! Love the top. Looks ready to wear to me. Love the pattern too.

    • hannybobbins 22/01/2013 at 5:48 pm #

      Thanks Karen and thanks for running the linky party – I think I will be a regular visitor!

  2. Cuckoo Chanel 21/01/2013 at 12:34 am #

    So cute!! You totally did it! You look great, AND happy which is the best part.
    Good questions. I made a Colette Peony this weekend that could use some tweaking but overall is pretty good.
    As for the homemade/RTW question, I’ll admit that I would love for someone to think something I’m wearing is RTW, but too many people know that I sew so when I’m wearing something new they always assume I made it.
    Congrats again on the sewing win!

    • hannybobbins 22/01/2013 at 5:50 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! You must be very talented to be sewing most/all of your wardrobe! Wow! I have seen the collette patterns and would love to get my skills up to try one…

      • Cuckoo Chanel 24/01/2013 at 4:44 pm #

        I’m not talented yet. I’m just shameless and will wear just about anything. 🙂 You would do fine with a Colette. The instructions are very clear and the dresses are cute and versatile.

  3. Judith 21/01/2013 at 9:42 am #

    This top looks super with the jeans, and you have done great work on sewing it up! You will get a heap of wear out of it…J

    • hannybobbins 22/01/2013 at 5:51 pm #

      Thanks a lot Judith. I hope so as I do really like the fabric.

  4. Grace 21/01/2013 at 10:29 am #

    It looks great on you and I never would of known you’d made it yourself!

  5. Helen 24/01/2013 at 8:42 pm #

    I think it is interesting that you say you want your sewing to look “as good as RTW” because the more I sew, and the more I look at RTW clothes, the more I am convinced that a home sewist can do a *better* job. Have a look around the high street next time you are out and you will see bad pattern matching, unfinished seams etc. Sometimes its hard when you make your own stuff, you can only see the bits that didn’t work how you wanted. I think your top looks great!

    • hannybobbins 24/01/2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Hi Helen
      I think you are right, I know I am my harshest critic. I think that is one of the reasons blogging is hard – you’re showing off that which you are never satisfied with to people who ‘know’!
      I am fascinated to learn more about clothes sewing and hopefully come to your realisation about home sewn garments. For the time being, and possibly due to my experience level, I see rtw as somethng to aim for – my fear is looking like a raggy doll!

  6. Andrea 25/01/2013 at 3:46 pm #

    It’s great! I didn’t realize the bottom had elastic until you said something. Great work!

    • hannybobbins 30/01/2013 at 6:35 pm #

      Thanks a lot Andrea. I am really pleased with this as a first proper project 🙂

Leave a Reply

