Stashbusting Sewalong

17 Jan

Well throwing myself in to this online community mullarky I have joined Stashbusting Sewalong being run by Cation Designs. This is the first sewalong I’ve ever participated in – exciting…? Well I think so!

Stashbusting Sewalong

Although I have only been sewing a year I don’t have a great fabric shop nearby so tend to ‘stock up’ whenever I get the opportunity. Also I’m a a bit of a ‘fabric tourist’ so like to pick up some fabric, or notions or something whenever I am away… This means I have accumulated a fair amount of fabric – my husband would say it is a lot!

The issue I have is that the fabrics I have don’t usually match the patterns I own, and I really don’t have the confidence to go off piste with fabric suggestions! The upshot of this is that I end up having to buy a specific fabric for a specific project leaving my poor stash looking dejected and unloved… For me the challenge of this sewalong will be to buy some patterns to match the stash – rather than just buying the patterns that catch my eye in an utterly haphazard fashion based on my mood/price/confidence level in my own skills that day/insert other random factor here.

I am really looking forward to tackling a challenge as an online community and hope this will motivate me to achieve the goal!

Are you participating in the sewalong? Are you a fabric tourist too? Or, on a more practical note how do I out something on the sidebar!? I’d love to hear from you.

5 Responses to “Stashbusting Sewalong”

  1. Judith 19/01/2013 at 1:55 am #

    Good for you in joining up with Stashbusting – you will meet a heap of great people via this. Can’t wait to see what patterns you buy this year, and what you whip up with them…off to have a peek around your blog…J

    • hannybobbins 19/01/2013 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks for taking the time to comment in my blog Judith. I am really enjoying bloging so far, it gives me a focus. I hope I can stay motivated to keep charting my progress!

  2. Helen 24/01/2013 at 8:35 pm #

    I am totally a fabric tourist. In fact, I make it my mission to find a fabric or yarn shop in every place we visit, it makes travelling even more fun! A couple of years ago, my husband had to go to France for a week to work. We arranged to meet in Paris on the Friday evening and spend the weekend together. I actually arrived in Paris on Thursday night (!) so I could spend Friday hunting out fabric and still meet him at 5pm!! At least its better than wasting money on postcards or naff souvenirs!

    • hannybobbins 24/01/2013 at 10:05 pm #

      Hi Helen,
      Thanks for commenting on my blog. I am so jealous of fabric shopping in Paris, or should I call it ‘le tissu’! It’s just so exciting to wander round and let your imagination run wild in a fabric shop. I also think it is such a tactile experience. I am totally with you on the improvement on tourist tat…step away from the fridge magnets! I’m off to a local craft show at the weekend in Exeter, I think the stashbusting may take a hit there for all of the reasons above!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beauty + thrift = knitting win « Hanny Bobbins - 03/02/2013

    […] a spending embargo on crafting so I wasn’t allowed to buy any accessories, he had a point, fabric tourism was out of control. I confidently reassured him that knitting was a refreshingly simple craft and I […]

Leave a Reply

