The first step is the hardest…

14 Jan

“If a tree falls in the forest and no animal hears it, does it make a sound?”


I am pondering this quote as I write my first blog post to nobody! Welcome to the beginning of my online chronicle of my sewing and crafting hobby! However, another naff quote, each journey begins with a single step, and you need a good pair of socks for a long walk!

Okay so what did I sew this weekend? Well I had a go at a free pattern from Maria Denmark and I tried the super socks. As I go to put this link in I see that you now need to pay $2 for the pattern on Craftsy it was free when I got it last week – perhaps it was on special offer?
20130114-201550.jpg

The reason I wanted to try a Maria Denmark was because I wanted to trial her patterns as I am quite taken with the day to night top which seems to have great reviews from blogging idols Scruffy Badger and sew busy lizzy but I wanted to check out how good the patterns and instructions are. I also wanted to see what it was like trying to add the seam allowances to a pattern and if this was beyond me.
20130114-201700.jpg

I have this fleecy fabric that I found on a visit to Walthamstow market (world renowned thanks to Karen of did you make that? fame) which I haven’t known what to do with. It seemed perfect for a fluffy sock or two. I didn’t do a toile, I thought the pattern was pretty simple and, seeing as they are only for my feet I would make whatever they turned out like work!

Printing and sticking the pieces together was fine, it seemed my printer shaved a few millimetres off the bottom of each sheet but I just eyeballed it. I then made a stupid error and forgot to add the bloomin’ seam allowances! To compound this, I didn’t realise until I had cut the fabric! Oh what a silly I am! So I think to myself – ah well I will just use the mock ‘overlock’ on my sewing machine and see how it goes. This pattern is super simple. Two pieces, you sew the heel shapes and then the top and bottom bits; that’s it. Very satisfying as they are so quick.
20130114-200809.jpg

As it turned out the seam allowance didn’t matter – they fit just like a glove and are very comfortable. The end product isn’t a ‘real’ sock in that it has seams; I think if you wore these out of the house for the day you’d end up with the seams rubbing your feet. Having said that I really like them as ‘house socks’. I get really cold toes and have made these out of the fluffiest fleece so putting my feet in to them for plodding around Chez Bobbins is just lovely!
20130114-200753.jpg

I found the top a bit loose on my first attempt so did a second one with pink foldover elastic – omg did I find that hard! I need some remedial FOE lessons! They are okay but I think I preferred the ‘hemmed’ top.
20130114-200818.jpg
I’d recommend this pattern, quick, easy and fun. Perfect for beginners.

First blog post: done!

12 Responses to “The first step is the hardest…”

  1. sewbusylizzy 15/01/2013 at 2:04 am #

    Congratulations on your first blog post & your first blogged project! The socks are the only MariaDenmark pattern I don’t have… that might have to change! Welcome to blog land!

    • hannybobbins 15/01/2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks Lizzy – I do recommend the socks, toastie warm feet as I type! Next Maria Denmark pattern in my queue is the kimono top…

  2. stipplequilt 16/01/2013 at 5:27 am #

    Welcome to blogland and have fun with blogging! Cute socks! Thanks for sharing.
    Freemotion by the River Linky Party Tuesday

  3. Quilting Grandma 16/01/2013 at 6:04 am #

    If my feet are cold I am cold all over. The socks look cozy.

  4. MariaDenmark 16/01/2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Welcome to blogland!
    The pattern was free over Christmas (it was a holiday gift :-)) I’m curious – what did you think of the instructions? Were they clear enough? As I already said on Patternreview – I wear these socks all day long when I’m at teh fabric store, and I haven’t encountered any problems with the seams being rough. Looking forward to read more from you!

    • hannybobbins 16/01/2013 at 7:45 pm #

      Hi Maria
      Thanks so much for replying to my blog post – wow! I didn’t realise they weren’t always free – thanks for the gift 😉
      I have made them from a super thick fleece which means I would be worried the socks would be too thick to fit comfortably inside my shoes and the seams then rub. As I say I like them as ‘house socks’ so prob will never test this theory anyway so bow tomyour experience.
      I thought the instructions were super clear. I think if you’d done more they would have seemed much more complicated than they were.
      Great pattern, thankyou!

  5. Jessica @ A Humble Creation 19/01/2013 at 3:52 am #

    Welcome to blogging! My blog is almost 2 months old so I’m getting my feet wet too, but having lots of fun! I commend you on joining a sewing challenge….it’s a great way to get motivated to finish a project!

    • hannybobbins 19/01/2013 at 9:10 am #

      Hi Jessica, thanks for your comment. I have been ‘lurking’ in the blogosphere for months so it feels a bit like finding my voice finally! Happy blogging to you too!

  6. KatieQ 19/01/2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Congratulations on your first post. The socks look very cozy. I will have to check out the pattern.

  7. JulieB 22/01/2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Congratulations on your first post. I have been pondering setting up a blog for almost a year now, but it has always been too scary! Well done for breaking through the scary barrier!

    • hannybobbins 22/01/2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Well Julie I am a whole WEEK in to my blogging career so can’t exactly regale you with my experience but it’s fun so far! Dive in!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day to night top by Maria Denmark | Hanny Bobbins - 10/08/2013

    […] issues either.  Winner.  The pattern was so easy to sew up.  I also remembered to add the seam allowances this time – result!  I was a little worried about the cowl neck for a first try with this kind of […]

Leave a Reply

